Counseling & Advising

Reedley College remains committed to taking every precaution necessary to address concerns over the safety for all students, faculty, and staff during these challenging times. To ensure the protection and safety of all employees, students, and the community, all counseling offices will be closed to the public until further notice. However, a full range of high-quality academic and support services are available via email, phone and Zoom platforms. Please contact the counseling office if you have any questions on how to access services.

Reedley College is now using Starfish for all counseling appointments. If you’re having difficulty navigating Starfish, please call 559-638-0337 to schedule an appointment over the phone.  Appointment requests can also be submitted by email to counseling@reedleycollege.edu  Students wanting to schedule to meet with a special program counselor are encouraged to contact the program directly for assistance. 

For more information about Starfish – please visit our Starfish For Reedley College Students Webpage

Learn how to use Starfish by joining our Starfish for Students Canvas Course 

Regularly Scheduled Hours: 

Monday/Thursday/Friday: 8:00am – 5pm

Tuesday/Wednesday: 8:00am – 5:30pm

Student Services Building

Contact

Phone: 559-494-3037
Email: counseling@reedleycollege.edu
Location:  Student Services Building  
Campus Map

Reedley College
Attn:  Student Services Counseling
995 N. Reed Ave
Reedley, CA 93654

 

Due to COVID-19, counseling services are currently not offered on campus.  Online counseling appointments are available through Zoom which allows for screen sharing and a remote “face to face” experience.  Zoom appointments can be used to discuss more comprehensive counseling needs and will generally be scheduled for 60 minutes. 

  • After scheduling an appointment in Starfish, you will receive a confirmation through your SCCCD email with a link to connect to your online counseling appointment.
  • You may access the link through a computer, smart phone or tablet.
  • You may also call into the session using the phone number and meeting ID provided.

We are doing our best to continue serving the students of Reedley College during this time.

Reedley College offers counseling by Pathways. Each Pathway has a team of people who work closely together to provide you with specialized counseling and support for your major. This team includes counselors that specialize in the majors that fall in that pathway. My Success Network in Starfish will display your Pathway service based on your major. You can use that service to schedule a pathway counseling appointment. 

If you are unsure of your major, explore our Pathways . You can use the links below to schedule an appointment with a pathway counselor. 

  • RC Pathway: Ag & Natural Resources
  • RC Pathway: Art, Music and English
  • RC Pathway: Business
  • RC Pathway: Child Development & Education
  • RC Pathway: Industrial and Manufacturing
  • RC Pathway: Social Sciences
  • RC Pathway: STEM

    Refer to the following to help you select the right reason when you schedule your appointment:

    Comprehensive Student Education Plan (SEP)/Program Completion Review (60 min)  
    Use this reason to create or update a student education plan through completion of your program or to review your plan in preparation for applying for graduation or transfer.  If you are needing a student education plan for a petition or appeal, please use the Petition/Appeal Assistance reason. It is important to let your counselor know if you will be using a student education plan for any type of petition or appeal.   

    First Semester Advising/One Term Student Education Plan (30 min)
    Use this reason to prepare for your first semester in college (i.e. high school seniors or new students) or to complete a one semester student education plan in preparation for registering.   

    Pathway/Major/Career Information (30 min)
    Use this reason when you want help with information and resources about majors and careers within one of the Reedley College Pathways.  

    Petition/Appeal Assistance (60 min)
    Use this reason when you need assistance with completing a petition or appeal (which may include creating or updating a student education plan).  It’s important to let your counselor know if you will be using a student education plan for any type of petition or appeal.  Additional follow up after the appointment may be needed depending on the specific petition and situation.  

    Probation Counseling (60 min)
    Use this reason to meet with a counselor to complete probation related counseling such as a retention contract or other paperwork related to A2/P2/CPBP or disqualification academic standings. Additional follow up after the appointment may be needed depending on the specific academic standing and situation.  

    Quick Counseling Questions (30 min)
    Use this reason for other needs not described in other reasons.  This could include things like help with understanding a college process, clearing a prerequisite, registration assistance or assistance applying for graduation.  Many quick questions can also be addressed through Drop In Counseling (See Below) – consider using this resource before scheduling an appointment.

starfish-ex.pngStarting June 15th, Students can schedule appointments to meet with a Reedley College General Counselor online through the Reedley College General Counseling Service in Starfish.  Once in Starfish, look for the Reedley College Counseling Department Service (see picture).  If this service does not show in your Success Network, look in “Other Services” to find it. 

Refer to the following to help you select the right reason when you schedule your appointment:

Comprehensive Student Education Plan (SEP)/Program Completion Review (60 min)  
Use this reason to create or update a student education plan through completion of your program or to review your plan in preparation for applying for graduation or transfer.  If you are needing a student education plan for a petition or appeal, please use the Petition/Appeal Assistance reason. It is important to let your counselor know if you will be using a student education plan for any type of petition or appeal.  

First Semester Advising/One Term Student Education Plan (30 min)
Use this reason to prepare for your first semester in college (i.e. high school seniors or new students) or to complete a one semester student education plan in preparation for registering.  

Pathway/Major/Career Information (30 min)
Use this reason when you want help with information and resources about majors and careers within one of the Reedley College Pathways. 

Petition/Appeal Assistance (60 min)
Use this reason when you need assistance with completing a petition or appeal (which may include creating or updating a student education plan).  It’s important to let your counselor know if you will be using a student education plan for any type of petition or appeal.  Additional follow up after the appointment may be needed depending on the specific petition and situation. 

Probation Counseling (60 min)
Use this reason to meet with a counselor to complete probation related counseling such as a retention contract or other paperwork related to A2/P2/CPBP or disqualification academic standings. Additional follow up after the appointment may be needed depending on the specific academic standing and situation. 

Quick Counseling Questions (30 min)
Use this reason for other needs not described in other reasons.  This could include things like help with understanding a college process, clearing a prerequisite, registration assistance or assistance applying for graduation.  Many quick questions can also be addressed through Drop In Counseling – consider using this resource before scheduling an appointment.

 

Drop-In Counseling: 

Common issues that may be resolved in Drop In:

  • First semester course selection
  • Add/drop a course
  • Clearing simple pre-requisites
    (using CA transcripts)
  • General Education Requirements
  • Providing information on academic policies/forms
  • Dates/how to register for courses
  • Campus Resources
  • Interpreting English/Math/ESL Placement results

Counseling Appointment

Common issues that require a longer appointment:

  • Student Education Plan
  • Transfer planning and progress
  • Transcript evaluation from other institutions
  • Major and program exploration
  • Personal and career goals
  • Degree or Certificate Evaluation
  • Appeals & Petitions – financial aid, 3rd attempt, etc.
  • Probation Counseling
  • Disqualification & Reinstatement Counseling

Students may be referred to schedule an appointment if their need involves more than what Drop-In Counseling Services can appropriately address. 

Remote Drop-In Counseling Options: 

  • Express Counseling
    • While campus is closed due to COVID-19, Express Counseling has changed to a call-back service. After being added to the waitlist, you will receive a call from a counselor at the number you provide before the end of the day.
    • Spring 21 Schedule: Monday – Friday from 8am – 5pm
      (schedule subject to change)
    • Call the Counseling Department at 559-494-3037 or Add Yourself to the
      Starfish Waitlist
  • Online Live Help Counseling

Internet Explorer IconPlease open this page using Internet Explorer on your computer to connect with the Live Chat feature.
This system is not supported in Chrome, Firefox, Safari, etc.

  • Click on the live help link to connect with a counselor for live text based chat assistance.
    • Live Chat Schedule is (subject to change at any time) :
      • Tuesday from 10am - 12pm, and 1pm - 3pm
      • Thursday from 10am - 12pm, and 1pm - 3pm
      • Friday from 10am – 12pm
    • Sometimes we need to close Live Help Chat completely for department meetings.  We will try to notify you of this ahead of time so you will know for sure.

THE ICON BELOW IS FOR LIVE HELP CHAT WITH A COUNSELOR.  IF YOU SEE COLOR IN THE ICON SOMEONE IS ONLINE!

Live Help Chat with a Counselor

If you are a high school student enrolling in college courses while still in high school. Please visit our Dual Enrollment and High School Enrichment webpages for more information. 

  • High School Enrichment: HSE is designed to provide high school students an opportunity for advanced scholastic college level coursework.
  • Dual Enrollment: Dual Enrollment allows the Community College campus to form a partnership with local K-12 districts that enables high school students (9th to 12th) to take a college class at their high school for college credit. 

Counselor

Email

Program

Affeldt, Melissa

melissa.affeldt@reedleycollege.edu

DSPS Workability III

Barraza, Tina

tina.barraza@reedleycollege.edu

STEM Pathway/General Counseling

Bos, Case

case.bos@reedleycollege.edu

AG & Natural Resources Pathway/General Counseling

Bourbon, Erica

erica.bourbon@reedleycollege.edu

Articulation and Transfer Counseling

Brasil, Janelle

janelle.brasil@reedleycollege.edu

DSP&S

Calderon, Lucy

lucy.calderon@reedleycollege.edu

DSP&S - DEVSER Instruction

Calhoun, Ashley

ashley.calhoun@reedleycollege.edu

DSP&S SSS

Cobb, Aaren

aaren.cobb@reedleycollege.edu

EOPS/NextUp

Cruz, Susana

susana.cruz@reedleycollege.edu

Child Development & Education Pathway/General Counseling

De La Cruz-Pulido, Gloria

gloria.delacruz-pulido@reedleycollege.edu

CalWorks

Marin-Duran, Ruby

ruby.duran@reedleycollege.edu

EOPS

Eubanks, Aaron

aaron.eubanks@reedleycollege.edu

Dual Enrollment/High School Enrichment

Ferrer, Jessica

jessica.ferrer@reedleycollege.edu

Dual Enrollment

Gibbs, Athena

athena.gibbs@reedleycollege.edu

Counseling Instruction/General Counseling

George, Lupe

lupe.george@reedleycollege.edu

Dual Enrollment/Veterans/General Counseling

Gutierrez, Dilia

dilia.gutierrez@reedleycollege.edu

Industry & Manufacturing Pathway/General Counseling

Gutierrez, Maricela

maricela.gutierrez@reedleycollege.edu

Social Sciences Pathway/General Counseling

Hernandez, Jesus

jesus.hernandez@reedleycollege.edu

Career Services/General Counseling

Herrera-Galvez, Pedro

pedro.herrera-galvez@reedleycollege.edu

STEM Pathway/General Counseling

Janssen, Dawnielle

dawnielle.janssen@reedleycollege.edu

DSP&S

Jimenez, Susie

susie.jimenez@reedleycollege.edu

Business Pathway/General Counseling

Jones, Steve

steven.jones@reedleycollege.edu

Business Pathway/General Counseling

Klimek, Anastascia

anastascia.klimek@reedleycollege.edu

EOPS

Lor, Fuechi

fuechi.lor@reedleycollege.edu

DSP&S Transition to College/Dual Enrollment

Morales, Luis

luis.morales@reedleycollege.edu

EOPS

Mullins, Kimberly

kimberly.mullins@reedleycollege.edu

Honors/Transfer/General Counseling

Ortega, Gema

gema.ortega@reedleycollege.edu

Child Development & Education Pathway/General Counseling

Pallares, Regina

regina.pallares@reedleycollege.edu

EOPS

Palomera Cabello, Deisy

deisy.palomeracabello@reedleycollege.edu

STEM Pathway/General Counseling

Parento-Garcia, Ellyce

ellyce.parento-garcia@reedleycollege.edu

Transfer/General Counseling

Pavon, Blanca

blanca.pavon@reedleycollege.edu

Art, Music & English Pathway/General Counseling

Pope, Katie

katie.pope@reedleycollege.edu

DSP&S - DEVSER Instruction

Ramirez, Josefina

josefina.ramirez@reedleycollege.edu

Social Sciences Pathway/General Counseling

Ramos-Cano, Erika

erika.ramos@reedleycollege.edu

Dream Center

Reents, Danielle

danielle.reents@reedleycollege.edu

Art, Music & English Pathway/General Counseling

Reither, Linda

linda.reither@reedleycollege.edu

DSP&S Learning Specialist/DEVSER Instruction

Renteria, Javier

javier.renteria@reedleycollege.edu

Athletic Counseling/General Counseling

Reyna, Cristina

cristina.reyna@reedleycollege.edu

Dual Enrollment

Rivera, Blanca

blanca.rivera@reedleycollege.edu

CalWorks

Rodriguez-Alvarez, Nancy

nancy.rodriguez-alvarez@reedleycollege.edu

SSS

Silva, Maria

maria.silva@reedleycollege.edu

Industry & Manufacturing Pathway/General Counseling

Spomer, Chris

chris.spomer@reedleycollege.edu

International Students/General Counseling/Counseling Instruction

Taylor, Aimee

aimee.taylor@reedleycollege.edu

AG & Natural Resources Pathway/General Counseling

Torres, Gilbert

gilbert.torres@reedleycollege.edu

Child Development & Education Pathway/General Counseling/High School Enrichment

Trimble, Samara

samara.trimble@reedleycollege.edu

Department Chair Counseling/DSP&S

Valdez, Rosalva

rosalva.valdez@reedleycollege.edu

SSS

Vang, Sue

sue.vang@reedleycollege.edu

Veterans/General Counseling

 

Administrator

Email

Title

Craig-Marius, Renee

renee.craig-marius@reedleycollege.edu

Vice President of Student Services

Culver-Dockins, Natalie

Natalie.culver-dockins@reedleycollege.edu

Dean of Student Success and Achievement

Solis, Shannon

Shannon.solis@reedleycollege.edu

Dean of Students