Disabled Student Programs & Services

Reedley College remains committed to taking every precaution necessary to address concerns over the safety for all students, faculty, and staff during these challenging times. To ensure the protection and safety of all employees, students, and the community, services are being offered in a variety of modalities, including Zoom, phone, email and in-person.  Currently, the vaccine mandate policy applies to all in-person services. Please contact us if you have any questions on how to access services.

For the most updated information, please visit the Reedley College Coronavirus (COVID-19) webpage.

Reedley College uses Starfish to help students connect with resources. 
For more information please visit our Starfish for Reedley College Students Webpage 

dsps-4.pngRegularly Scheduled Hours:

Monday – Friday 8:00am – 5:00pm

Contact:

Phone: 559-494-3032                                          Fax: 800-624-1499
TTY:
559-638-0382
Location:
DSP&S Building
Campus Map
Reedley College
Attn: DSP&S
995 N. Reed Ave
Reedley, CA 93654

DSP&S provides services and accommodations to assist students who have temporary or permanent disabilities that affect academic functioning. Visit our DSP&S Eligibility & Disability Verification webpage for more information

To receive DSP&S services students must self-identify and complete the following steps:

  1. Apply to Reedley College.
  2. Complete the college Online Orientation.
  3. Meet with a Reedley College counselor for academic advising.
  4. Apply for services online via the DSPS AIM Portal application.
    dsps aim portal logo
  5. Contact DSP&S to schedule an intake appointment. During this appointment the student and DSP&S counselor will complete the necessary paperwork, review disability documentation, discuss disability related educational limitations and the services/accommodations to address the identified needs.
    • Please provide the following information during the intake appointment:
      • Disability Documentation (i.e. IEP, Psychological Assessment Report, 504 Plan, completed DSP&S disability verification form, etc.)
      • Academic Transcripts (i.e. high school/other college transcripts)
Any other additional academic/disability paperwork that would enable DSP&S to appropriately serve the applicant

Schedule an appointment online through Starfish: 
Reedley College DSP&S Program Service

Schedule an appointment by phone:  559-494-3032

Schedule an appointment by email: DSPS@reedleycollege.edu

Learn how to use Starfish by joining our Starfish for Students Canvas Course

Disabled Students Programs & Services (DSP&S) is designed to provide specialized services and accommodations that assist students with documented disabilities to reach their maximum potential while achieving their educational goals. DSP&S staff interact with all areas of the campus to eliminate physical, academic and attitudinal barriers.

For more information visit the following links:

NAME

TITLE

EXTENSION

EMAIL

Dr. Samuel Morgan

Director, DSP&S

3524

samuel.morgan@reedleycollege.edu

LuAnn Aldape

Office Specialist

3701

luann.aldape@reedleycollege.edu

Angela Bustos

Budget Technician

3269

angela.bustos@reedleycollege.edu

Ricardo Cuevas

Alternative Media Specialist

3603

ricardo.cuevas@reedleycollege.edu

Ashley Calhoun

DSP&S Counselor/Coordinator

3532

ashley.calhoun@reedleycollege.edu

Melissa Affeldt

WAIII Counselor/Coordinator

3486

melissa.affeldt@reedleycollege.edu

Dawnielle Janssen

SSS Counselor/Coordinator

3188

dawnielle.janssen@reedleycollege.edu

Patrick Tackett

Learning Disability Specialist/Instructor

3183

patrick.tackett@fresnocity.edu

Devin Puente

Adjunct DSPS Counselor/Instructor

3235

devin.puente@reedleycollege.edu

Fuechi Lor

DSP&S Transition to College Counselor/Coordinator

3550

fuechi.lor@reedleycollege.edu

Johnathon Hedrington

Adjunct DSP&S Counselor

3626

johnathon.hedrington@reedleycollege.edu

Hannah Brophy

Senior Sign Language Interpreter

3032

hannah.brophy@reedleycollege.edu

Nicole Comstock

Adjunct DSPS Instructor

3601

nicole.comstock@reedleycollege.edu

Taylor Lopez

Job Developer

3602

taylor.lopez@reedleycollege.edu

Devin Knudsen

Adjunct DSP&S Counselor

3294

devin.knudsen@reedleycollege.edu

Requests for disability related accommodations for employees should be directed to the his/her immediate supervisor. The Disabled Students Program and Services facilitates accommodations to current SCCCD students only.

 

 

Sign Language Interpreter Request

REQUEST FORM

If you would like to request an interpreter, please fill out the Interpreter Request Form.

Include:

  • date of the event
  • time
  • location
  • details such as flyers, target audience, etc.

For questions please email Tabitha Dubois.

Please note: We request that you submit your request at least 2 weeks in advance. Events that exceed 1 hour require 2 interpreters.

QUICK TIPS

  • Avoid blocking access to visual information and communication
  • Talk to the student, not the interpreter
  • Allow time for the interpretation
  • Provide class materials to interpreters
  • Group work: consider placement
  • Interpreters are professionals and follow a code of professional conduct
  • Be aware that the interpreter must interpret everything that is said